Streetcars Are Not Modern Transportation, Take It From those Who Live With Them Every Day

17 Nov

“Whenever I open the newspaper again and again there are accidents,”  says Rainer Hasters, who lives in West Berlin. “Streetcars running over pedestrians, bumping into other cars. In my opinion it’s a higher rates of accidents. I am extremely careful and cautious if I go by car into East Berlin and even see a streetcar close by.”

Businessman Ivers Pierre says he believes the American push for more streetcars is more about making money than helping commuters.  “Instead of making things faster to resolve things, it’s making it worse instead,” says Pierre. “It’s not resolving anything. It’s just some people, I would say, some investors who are thinking about making money and they just want to build on the street line so they can get profit out of it and make life more expensive to people.”

Read more:  European Trams Offer Lessons for Arlington As It Debates Streetcar Plan

